top of page
Writer's pictureK. R.

Savoy Grill : The place to celebrate an event in London.

Updated: Mar 26, 2019


I have had the pleasure to visit the Savoy Grill September 29th, 2018 with my mother. I planned a surprise trip as we currently live in Belgium but I am moving to the United States in a few days. My mom’s favorite chef is Gordon Ramsay. She has seen every single episode of Kitchen nightmare and loves everything Mr Ramsay does. So do I. After comparing online The Savoy Grill seemed to be the best option. The pictures online left me under the impression that the restaurant was warm and cozy without being too quiet. I wanted something classy, but I also wanted to get my money’s worth. I wanted to be able to pick from a diverse menu and not have to follow a set menu. I loved the selection on the Savoy Grill’s menu. I was dead set on the Beef Wellington as it is Chef Ramsay’s most recognized dish.


My mom’s other dream was to see and visit the Royal Albert Hall. Doing this got us almost 45 minutes late our reservation. I absolutely hate being late and I tried everything to get to the restaurant on time but I am not used to traffic in London unfortunately. When arrived at the Savoy Grill I apologized for being incredibly late and the lady at the reception was incredibly kind and understanding. The other gentlemen working with her were even making jokes so I wouldn’t feel as embarrassed. I had expected a colder environment but we started on a very good note! I felt welcome!

After taking our coats, the waiter took us to our table and heard me speak French to my mom. He then quickly sent us another waiter who spoke French. Much easier since my mom doesn’t speak a word of English. Before getting into my experience I want to acknowledge how much space there is around a table for two. Usually you’ll be too close to other people or to the wall. It’s not that you can’t hear anything other people are saying but if you’ve just been shopping you’ll absolutely have enough space for your bags and belongings.

Our lovely French waiter made conversation as he handed us our menu. What I appreciated the most was the selection of side dishes. I appreciate being able to decide wether I want mash potatoes or French fries as well as many other options with my main course. It is a detail that makes the difference.



Since I wanted us to try the famous Beef Wellington I proceeded to order immediately and decided to skip the entrée. I figured it would be massive and didn’t wanna kill my appetite with a starter. The Beef Wellington takes about 45 minutes to be prepared. Our waiter said he would check with the chef if he had a little something for us... I didn’t quite understand what he meant by that but went with it. He asked if there was anything he should know about food allergies. I mentioned my mom’s dislike for fish. A waiter came to us and put a napkin on our lap, another one brought bread and butter and another one served us water. Everything felt so organized like we were the only one in the restaurant. But we weren't. The place was full.




Our main waiter came back with two little cups. He explained that it was a little soup made with so many ingredients I wouldn’t even be able to remember what they all were. I had little crab croutons in mine and they were not there in my mom’s cup. He remembered. I enjoyed this little soup so much. I’ve never had anything quite like that! So much flavor you wouldn't need more.



Our Beef Wellington eventually came and we had decided to go with Truffle mash potatoes. This was absolutely the best combination possible. I would like to add that you’re eating with actual silver forks and knives. Your side is also served in a silver plate. No detail is being left out believe me! The Beef Wellington is everything you could expect. The whole dish makes sense. It is just the perfect blend of flavors and textures.


You get two pieces of Beef Wellington which quite big for one person to eat. I felt embarrassed but I absolutely had to ask if it was possible to have it wrapped to take it home. No dirty looks were given to me and I was able to take home my fabulous beef Wellington and enjoy it the next day.


We felt like desert would be too much so I ordered 2 cappuccinos for me and my mom. When the cappuccinos came our French waiter, Rémy, congratulated me for getting married and moving to the United States. I looked at him quite surprised and asked him how he knew. With a smile, he politely answered that he knew everything and put a plate in front of me with the cutest little pie and the word “Congratulations” written with chocolate. It was the most elegant thing I had ever seen. My mom explained that while waiting for the beef Wellington, when I excused myself to the ladies' room, Rémy came to her and said he felt like this was a special day for us. My mom explained why we were in London for the day. He then asked her what he could do to make our day a little more special.


You wouldn't believe how something so small can simply be so amazing. This little pie was exactly what I needed. The cappuccino was probably the most surprising. There's nothing more frustrating than a small cup of coffee when you’re craving a real cup of coffee with warm milk. Something you can slowly enjoy as the conversations go on. We were also given two delicious macaroons to accompany our beverages.

I absolutely had the best time at The Savoy Grill. When you look around while waiting you see the staff running around like musicians playing a symphony. Nothing is left behind. You won’t see a waiter give a dirty look to another one. It’s like they read each other’s mind. I’m a middle class woman who was treated like a Duchess. And this is what made all the difference. This is the place you want to go for a special day. Graduation, birthdays, new job, engagement, the Savoy Grill will celebrate with you.





Although this was team's effort, I have to give my gratitude to where it’s due. Rémy made our experience as best as it could possibly be. He was so kind and made us feel at home. I was so grateful for his kindness, patience and attention to details. He didn’t have to go out of his way to make us happy. He could have just smiled and done the minimum.

Thanks to Rémy I will absolutely go back to the Savoy Grill. I will never go to London without stopping by the Savoy Grill or Hotel. It is a must!

If you go there following my recommendation, whether you speak French or not, ask for Rémy you won’t regret it !









Five out of Five stars. Would definitely recommend.

13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page