top of page
Writer's pictureK. R.

Is Karen Wickre's guide taking the work out of Networking?


Oh let me tell you about the day I picked up this book... I wish I could start with “it was a gloomy day in Dallas » to set the mood but it actually wasn’t. It was a very sunny day of February and my husband and I were ready to go back home after spending the weekend in Grapevine. The goal of that weekend has nothing to do with this story but like anytime I spend reflecting on myself I get a little...how do you say... depressed. Not clinically. I know I dug up the big word right there but it is what it is. I shut down, pick myself apart, repeat over and over again that imaginary to do list to become a successful real estate agent, realize I’m not gonna get there anytime soon because of reasons, I also don’t know anyone in howdy-town and I spend the rest of my day not feeling any better...


So the mood now being set, we planned to get lunch at the Cheesecake Factory before hitting the road. There’s only one in Dallas and it happens to be located right next to one of my favorite stores : Barnes and Noble. I love to roam around that store. I also happen to like reading. But college and years of feeling like you don’t deserve to take care of yourself made me feel like I shouldn’t buy any books. Those days are gone. No matter how I feel about myself I do have the time and need to better myself. And reading is just that. I entered the store feeling like I needed to find the magic potion for my wounds. I always seemed to think that the more studying I do about real estate the better I will feel. As I was browsing over the finance guides and biographies I found a book close to the idea of “techniques to become the best real estate agent”. I looked at some of the pages briefly and was impressed by what seemed like detailed explanation. My husband joined me and I handed him the book to kind of grasp his opinion. He said to me that it seemed like a good book but is probably meant for someone already working in real estate. And he was right. Laws, contracts and procedures are honestly not what have scared me the most. What scares me is the lack of friendships I have, the hustle, the constant pressure of building a Network. I am scared to speak to people and I am nowhere. I am happy in my comfort zone and I feel fine that way. My fears come from knowing I will have to. If I want to be the best version of myself I will have to relearn how to ride a normal bicycle again*. And this terrorizes me. I used to be such a socialite. My parents would probably tell you I’m scared of nothing and speak my truth. But the real truth is, as I’m desperately wondering how I can get out of this circle, I’ve become an introvert. There it is. Right in front of me. I will not get from point A to point Z without tackling the rest of the alphabet first. I will only be more comfortable with getting out of my comfy bubble when I know how to Network and not make a fool of myself. With a better understanding of the situation I start to search for books about Networking. Honestly the selection is as  shy as me trying to order a Starbucks drink without messing up... But lucky me it look like Karen Wickre just released a book calling my name : "How to take the work of Networking : an introvert's guide to making connections that count."  Was this meant to be? Are we soul mates? We may never know but I think this is the A step I was looking for...



But have have really learned since I left Barnes and Noble that sunny day of February. Honestly not much. But what I do know now is that you don't have to be an introvert to not enjoy the process of Networking. It seems insane that anyone truly enjoys going out of their way to talk to strangers or worst, people you've only talked to a few times to ask for "favors". How awkward is it to be standing alone at the buffet after a work conference when you don't know anyone. You don't really know? Well have you ever stopped at a café after passing security before taking a plane and the person that accompanies you goes to the bathroom on the other side of the airport so you stay at the table to watch all the luggages. You're alone at the table surrounded by strangers caught in their conversations, everyone is excited to go on a trip. And you're there awkwardly silent. Therefore you scroll through social media to pretend you're busy. Now bring this situation back to our work conference: no one is coming back from the bathroom to save the day, you might not even be sitting at a table but standing up, and scrolling through social media really isn't going to help the situation. So you're standing juggling between a drink in one hand, an appetizer in the other and a crooked smile on your face.



Karen Wickre had and still has a successful career but she swears she is an introvert. How did she do it then? Well that's where you will be learning more than a thing or two. I somewhat already knew some of her tips through my marketing internship and the interactions that followed. She also reminds you that you don't have to be best friends with everyone you encounter and you certainly don't have to make everything about business. In my opinion if you want to last in any industry you have to be passionate. And with passion comes encounters that blends fun and business. This is where you will meet the people that might give you a helping hand when in need. Whether it's a referral or just an advice you won't get it from someone you only talk to when you need something. Vice versa. Build healthy loose relationships and you will stay in people's mind. Those are the tools Karen Wickre will give you. I also particularly enjoyed the large portions about social media. Chances are if you're an introvert you might feel more comfortable behind the computer where you have time to think and keep the right distance. You may think you know how to use Facebook and Twitter but do you really know how to utilize them to your advantage? Are your social media too clean, boring, bit scary or just revealing the right amount about your private life? Where are the online boundaries? There also she will explain you what is ok and not ok.


I didn't quite know what to expect. I really consider this as a handy guide to keep close to you. I would feel comfortable reaching for it when in doubt. What do I do next? Should I call? Should I email? Is It appropriate to meet for coffee. I really want to work for this company that my friend knows someone who works there, what do I do?


Long story short :


This book is good for :

- Unhappy introverts who want to use the tools around them and become the new go-getters;

- People who don't come from a marketing, communication background and may have worked their entire career in a cubicle or in non social environments;

- People who go out of their way to meet people but don't know what to do with their own business cards and don't know how to use the business cards they received.

- The ones who think they don't know anyone. No one knows no one;


This book isn't good for :

- Marketing and communication experts. Chances are you already know everything, you're just scared to take risks and go forward;

- Shy newbies in town : This book doesn't tell you how to make friends and business connections. It explains you how to get out of your work comfort zone or branch out.



I will keep this book close to hand but I'm not quite sure it was exactly what I need right now in my life. It will come in handy when I start Real Estate School or when I meet the few first people in the business. It will give me the confidence to send an email forwarding a casual conversation or be the conversation starter.


I don't think Karen Wickre's book has taken the work out Networking but she has definitely taken the blame out of it!















External Links : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFzDaBzBlL0

19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page